The Aviators’ Ball

The Aviators’ Ball is the debut album from bassist Matt Owens, incorporating elements of jazz, world, classical and folk music.

The album features a host of Manchester’s finest musicians including trumpeters Neil Yates (Kate Rusby) and Steve Chadwick (Sam Lee), pianists John Ellis (Cinematic Orchestra) and Edward Barnwell, drummers Rick Weedon and Danny Ward alongside The Souza Winds and Vintage Strings. As well as writing his own material Matt arranged several guest singers’ songs: Tom Davies‘ tender Mouse Song, Zoe Kyoti’s ethereal Monsoon and Ríoghnach Connolly’s haunting interpretation of the traditional folk song Black Is The Colour. 

The album was co-produced by Kirsty Almeida (who adds a vocalise to Going Back to the Village) and was mixed by John Ellis at Limefield Studio, Manchester.

Much of the material was taken from his suite of pieces Ten, commissioned by The Manchester Jazz Festival and written for  jazz quartet combined with wind quintet and tuned percussion.

Matt has been a creative component of Manchester’s vibrant music scene writing, arranging and playing bass with acts such as Kirsty Almeida, La Gran Descarga, Baked A La Ska, The Wagon Train, Ríoghnach Connolly and The Magic Beans. His music has been used in the films Pategonia and Albatross and on the American TV show Arrow.

Title track from The Aviators' Ball